The play-off winners, the ten losing teams from the UEFA Champions League play-offs and sides entering at this stage make up the 48 clubs that go into the group stage draw at the Grimaldi Forum.

The 48 teams are split into four seeding pots based on UEFA's coefficient system, with one from each drawn into the 12 groups. No side can meet another from the same association. Once the draw has been completed a computer draw will determine the final position of the clubs within their group and therefore the order of the home and away matches.